Pevensey Castle – a sightseeing pit stop on the map of East Sussex

When I hear the word ‘castle’, a few of them come to my mind, and all are from… Game of Thrones :P! But since I am in England, I managed to visit quite a few real castles. One of them was Pevensey Castle, which is the closest one to Eastbourne. Again, I was oblivious to its existence until the day I first got on board of 124 East Sussex Tourist Trail bus service.

01

Pevensey Castle is quite small, however it is surrounded by vast grounds and a moat.

15

When I visited it, available were one exhibition room and what was boldly named ‘the dungeon’, which was only a bit bigger than… the cupboard under the stairs.

1006

There are big grounds inside, with the remains of the buildings once being a part of the castle as well as a few cannons – an obligatory item at every castle.

07

Would I go there again? Not too convinced. It is a lovely place but can’t be compared to other, most significant castles on the map of the UK. But if you are unsure if you should see it – don’t make it your priority. Pevensey Castle will be the perfect destination for a Sunday trip but preferably as a stop on the way to some other destination, like Lewes, for example. And the entrance fee is only around £7.00 for an adult.

08

I am going to be perfectly honest – castles are not my favourite part of sightseeing. Probably because most of the ones I’ve seen so far were ruins. Such a shame to see once-grandeur buildings destroyed. It does make me sad wishing I could have visited them at the times of their greatness. Yet, admiring the surrounding view from the castle towers is entirely a different story 😉

To find out more about Pevensey Castle – see its English Heritage website.

05

09

02

03

04

12

11

14
St Mary’s Church in Westham, right next to the Pevensey Castle

16

17
The Long Man of Wilmington – an 18th century hill figure, one of two in East Sussex

 

 

 


Leave a comment